Skip to content

Northwest Iowa Dairy Outlooks

A local discussion of current science and issues concerning dairying in northwest iowa

The Texas Wheat Producers Board (TWPB) is holding its biennial election to elect five board members to fill expiring positions.  The mail election officially begins March 23, 2013 and will conclude April 9, 2013.

Terms expiring in 2013 include Cagle Kendrick of District I, Tommy Womack of District II, Fred Dwyer of District III, Ken Davis of District IV, and Jack Norman also of District IV.

Any person who is engaged in commercial wheat production in Texas is eligible to vote for the district in which they reside. This includes owners of farms and their tenants and share croppers if they are subject to paying the assessment that is collected on wheat within the following counties:

District I:    Dallam, Sherman, Ochiltree, Lipscomb, Hansford, Roberts, Moore, Hartley, Hutchinson and Gray.

District II:    Carson, Potter, Oldham, Deaf Smith, Randall, Armstrong, Briscoe, Swisher, Castro, Parmer, Hale and Floyd.

District III:    Childress, Hardeman, Foard, Knox, Throckmorton, Haskell, Archer, Baylor, Wilbarger, Wichita, Young and Clay.

District IV:     All other counties in Texas.

Ballots are available from the Texas AgriLife Extension Service and Farm Service Agency offices in Williamson County, or by mail from the TWPB office between March 23, 2013 and April 9, 2013. The Williamson County Extension office is located at 3151 SE Inner Loop, Georgetown with office hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Ballots must be mailed to the TWPB, 5405 West I-40, Amarillo, Texas 79106, and will not be valid with a postmark date later than April 9, 2013.

Board members are responsible for the allocation of funds from a state-wide wheat producer assessment of two cents per bushel.  These funds are applied to wheat research, education and market development.  The Texas Agricultural Commodity Referendum Law prohibits such funds from being used for lobbying or legislative efforts.  For more information, contact the Texas Wheat Producers Board office toll-free at 1 (888) 40-WHEAT or (806) 352-2191.



Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: