Skip to content

Northwest Iowa Dairy Outlooks

A local discussion of current science and issues concerning dairying in northwest iowa

The Texas Corn Producers Board will hold elections in three of its five voting regions to elect five board members where current members’ seats are expiring. The TCPB election will be held from January 9, 2016, until Jan. 23, 2016.

Of the five seats, there is one seat open for election in voting region three, which Tarrant County. Bruce Wetzel of Grayson County has been nominated for the seat in voting region three.

Corn producers eligible to vote in the elections are persons, including the owner of a farm on which corn is produced or the owner’s tenant or sharecropper, engaged in the business of producing corn or causing corn to be produced for commercial purposes for at least one production period during the three years preceding the date of this election. The producer must also reside within one of the counties stated above to vote in the respective voting region.

Voters will be voting for qualified candidates who have sought nomination within the respective TCPB voting regions where elections are to occur. Voters may also vote for board members by “writing in” the name of any eligible persons.

The elections will be held by mail ballot. Ballots containing the nominations of all persons who have validly filed will be available Jan. 9, 2016, County Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service offices in each of the appropriate voting regions, or by writing TCPB. All voters otherwise qualified to vote as corn producers must reside in a county within the TCPB voting region where they seek to vote.

For a ballot to be valid, it must be mailed to the TCPB, 4205 N. I-27, Lubbock, Texas 79403, with a postmark date of no later than Jan. 23, 2016.

Ballots are available at the Tarrant County Extension Office located at 200 Taylor St, Suite 500 in Fort Worth. For more information contact the office at 817.884.1946.



Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: